Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

April 8, 1960 (6 items; TT = 58:32)
Kongresshaus, Zürich (Switzerland)
Unknown radio broadcast (B)
Miles Davis Quintet
Chatter: [show] [hide]

Miles Davis (tpt); John Coltrane (ts); Wynton Kelly (p); Paul Chambers (b); Jimmy Cobb (d); Norman Granz (ann)

1 Introduction (Norman Granz) 1:03
2 If I Were a Bell (F. Loesser) 16:40
3 Fran Dance (M. Davis) 7:36
4 So What (M. Davis) 15:20
5 All Blues (M. Davis) 17:02
6 The Theme (M. Davis) 0:51


1 Introduction (Norman Granz)
CD: TCB 02312

2 If I Were a Bell
CD: Jazz Unlimited JUCD 2031, Storyville STA 130467, Gambit 69220, Solar 4569971, Jazz Plot JPR 61623, TCB 02312, Acrobat ACQCD 7076

3 Fran Dance
CD: Jazz Unlimited JUCD 2031, Storyville STA 130467, Gambit 69220, Solar 4569971, Jazz Plot JPR 61623, TCB 02312, Acrobat ACQCD 7076

4 So What
CD: Jazz Unlimited JUCD 2031, Storyville STA 130467, Gambit 69220, Solar 4569971, Jazz Plot JPR 61623, TCB 02312, Acrobat ACQCD 7076

5 All Blues
CD: Jazz Unlimited JUCD 2031, Storyville STA 130467, Gambit 69220, Solar 4569971, Jazz Plot JPR 61623, TCB 02312, Acrobat ACQCD 7076

6 The Theme
CD: Jazz Unlimited JUCD 2031, Storyville STA 130467, Gambit 69220, Solar 4569971, Jazz Plot JPR 61623, TCB 02312, Acrobat ACQCD 7076


From March 21 through April 10, the Davis Quintet toured Europe, along with Oscar Peterson and the Stan Getz and their groups, under the auspices of Norman Granz's "Jazz at the Philharmonic." Davis had hired vibraphonist Buddy Montgomery for the tour but at the last minute Montgomery bowed out. Surprisingly few recordings from this tour have surfaced. The itinerary was as follows:

March 21 (Monday, 7:30 and 10:30 pm), Olympia Theatre, Paris
March 22 (Tuesday, 7:00 and 9:15 pm), Konserthuset, Stockholm
March 23 (Wednesday), Njardhallen, Oslo (or Goteburg, Sweden)
March 24 (Thursday, 7:00 and 9:30 pm), Tivolis Konsertsal, Copenhagen
March 25 (Friday, 8:00 pm), Niedersachsenhalle, Hannover
March 26 (Saturday, 8:00 pm), Weser-Ems-Halle, Oldenburg
March 27 (Sunday, 8:00 pm), Sportspalast, Berlin
March 28 (Monday), WDR Studio, Düsseldorf (Davis out)
March 29 (Tuesday, 6:00 and 9:00 pm), Musikhalle, Hamburg
March 30 (Wednesday), Kongresshalle, Frankfurt am Main
March 31 (Thursday, 9:15 pm), Teatro Lirico, Milan
April 1 (Friday, 8:00 pm), Fruchthalle, Kaiserslautern
April 2 (Saturday, 6:15 and 9:45 pm), Messehalle, Köln
April 3 (Sunday, 6:00 and 9:00 pm), Deutsches Museum, Kongress-Saal, Munich
April 4 (Monday, 8:00 pm), Stadthalle, Karlsruhe
April 6 (Wednesday), Stadthalle, Vienna
April 7 (Thursday, two shows), Messehaus, Nürnberg
April 8 (Friday, 8:30 pm), Kongresshaus, Zürich
April 9 (Saturday, 8:15 pm), Kurhaus, Scheveningen
April 9 (Saturday, midnight), Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
April 10 (Sunday, 8:00 pm), Liederhalle, Beethoven-Saal, Stuttgart

All original content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons License. Creative Commons License