Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

October 18, 1970 (9 items; TT = 87:01)
Fillmore West, San Francisco CA
Soundboard recording (B)
Miles Davis Septet
Chatter: [show] [hide]

Miles Davis (tpt); Gary Bartz (ss, as); Keith Jarrett (el-p, org); Michael Henderson (el-b); Jack De Johnette (d); Airto Moreira (perc); Jumma Santos [Jim Riley] (perc)

1 Introduction 0:04
2 Directions (J. Zawinul) 9:46

Theme stated at 2:20, 3:15. At 8:54 Davis plays with the "Agitation" theme for several seconds
3 Honky Tonk (M. Davis) 14:53
4 Untitled Original 701004 (M. Davis) 11:35
5 Sanctuary (W. Shorter-M. Davis) 2:42
6 Yesternow (M. Davis) 18:25

Incomplete (1:14) on So What CDR
7 Bitches Brew (M. Davis) 10:51
8 Funky Tonk (M. Davis) 18:11
9 The Theme (with applause) (M. Davis) 0:34

The Davis Septet opened for Leon Russell and Sea Train for four nights at the Fillmore West, October 15-18 (Thursday-Sunday). Columbia probably recorded these shows, and the Fillmore certainly did.

An audience recording of part of this concert was broadcast by KPFA-FM sometime in the spring of 1971. Perhaps as a result, this music has circulated for years listed as Berkeley, Spring 1971. But the correct venue and date is listed above.

All original content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons License. Creative Commons License