[light] [dark]

Wolfgang Dauner, Nathan Davis, Gunter Hampel Groups
Tonhalle, Villingen

[Return to list]

January 29, 1965 (b) (11 items; TT = 51:54)
Tonhalle, Villingen
Source/Quality: RB (B+)

Wolfgang Dauner (p); Eberhard Weber (b); Fred Braceful (d); Woody Shaw (tpt); Nathan Davis (tpt); Larry Young (p); Billy Brooks (d); Manfred Schoof (tpt, cnt); Gunter Hampel (vb, fl); Alexander Von Schlippenbach (p); J.B. "Buschi" Niebergall (b); Pierre Courbois (d); Joachim-Ernst Berendt (ann)

1 Introduction (Berendt) 2:12
2 Dämmerung (W. Dauner) 5:36
3 Introduction (Berendt) 0:08
4 Zehn Notizen (W. Dauner) 5:43
5 Introduction (Berendt) 0:12
6 Yesterdays (J. Kern-O. Harbach) 6:27
7 Introduction (Berendt) 1:53
8 Talking About J.C. (L. Young) 17:01
9 Introduction (Berendt) 1:08
10 Mood in Two Colors (M. Schoof) 10:48
11 Closing announcement 0:46

Originally broadcast on February 19, 1965, "Südwestrundfunk Jazz Session 1965."

On items 2, 4, and 6 the personnel is Dauner, Weber, and Braceful; on item 8, Shaw, Davis, Young, Weber, and Brooks; on item 10, Schoof, Hampel, Schlippenbach, Niebergall, and Courbois.

The following day the Davis group recorded Happy Girl (Saba 15025), and the Hampel group recorded Heartplants (Saba 15026) in the Saba studios in Villingen.

I'm grateful to Ernst Nebhuth for help with this session.

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License