[light] [dark]

John Surman Group (NDR Workshop 60)
Studio 10, Grosser Sendesaal des NDR Funkhauses, Hamburg

[Return to list]

January 24, 1969 (8 items; TT = 56:19)
Studio 10, Grosser Sendesaal des NDR Funkhauses, Hamburg
Source/Quality: RB (B+)

Bernard Vitet (tpt, flh); Eje Thelin (tb); Rolf Kühn (cl, as); Heinz Sauer (ss, ts); Barney Wilen (ss, ts); John Surman (bs); Joachim Kühn (p, org); Mimi Lorenzini (g); Günter Lenz (b, el-b); Jean François Jenny-Clark (b, cello); Aldo Romano (dr); Stu Martin (dr, perc)

1 Noninka (S. Martin) 9:19
2 Blues (J. Surman) 7:21

Solos: J. Kühn (p); Lorenzini; Surman; Vitet
3 Circus (R. Kühn) 6:10

Solos: R. Kühn (cl); Sauer (ts); Surman
4 Dur Dur Dur (B. Wilen) 6:08

Solo: J. Kühn (org)
5 Atlantis (E. Thelin) 5:00

Solo: Thelin
6 To Your Father (J. Kühn) 4:42

Martin (?) 1:32-2:23: "Where shall we find you? We've never searched for you in our lives. Your eyes had to be closed to open ours on the work of your life. Where to find you? Like a storm suddenly gone... Your eyes closed will see ours. You have created for us a tame flow of sounds. Strings filled with life that you have filled, sound by sound. To find you again on each instrument, open eyes listen, for you are there..."
7 Revised Edition (J. Surman) 7:02

Solo: Surman
8 To Blow Your Mind (J. Kühn) 10:37

Solos: Surman; J. Kühn (p); Lenz (b)/Jenny-Clark (b); R. Kühn (cl)

NDR Jazz Workshop No. 60 - "To Blow Your Mind"; produced by Hans Gertberg.

In addition to the titles listed above, the group performed

El Dorado (J. Kühn), 8:00
Rhythm One (E. Thelin), 5:40
Invention for Six and One (R. Kühn), 8:00
Shadows (J. Kühn), 7:40
Scandal (J. Kühn), 10:25

I am grateful to Michael Frohne for help with this session.

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License