[light] [dark]

Oregon + Paul Bley
Liederhalle, Stuttgart

[Return to list]

March 19, 1974 (12 items; TT = 129:23)
Liederhalle, Stuttgart
Source/Quality: RB (B+)

Paul McCandless (oboe, english horn, bcl); Ralph Towner (g, p, frh, tpt); Glen Moore (b, vln, fl); Collin Walcott (sitar, tabla, perc); Paul Bley (p)

1 Ghost Beads (R. Towner) 13:17
2 Canyon Song (C. Walcott) 9:40
3 Dark Spirit (R. Towner) 11:29
4 Song for a Friend (R. Towner) 5:24
5 Silence of a Candle (R. Towner) 4:45
6 Aurora (R. Towner) 10:23
7 Improvisation (Oregon) 6:15
8 Icarus (R. Towner) 11:20
9 Raven's Wood (R. Towner) 16:07
10 Solo medley (P. Bley) 25:41
11 Mr. Joy (P. Bley) 7:58
12 Carla (P. Bley) 7:04

This is from a SWR Treffpunkt Jazz broadcast. Bley joins Oregon on "Icarus" and "Raven's Wood" and duets with Glen Moore on "Mr. Joy" and "Carla." The solo medley by Bley includes "Interval," "Haarlem," "Nothingness," "Olhos de Gato," "Short Taste," and "Ida Lupino." "Raven's Wood" was faded out at about 12:00 on the original broadcast; this version is from a different, slightly inferior recording.

Oregon's first tour of Germany took place in March 1974, and it is well documented by recordings.

  • March 13: Onkel Pö's Carnegie Hall, Hamburg
  • March 15: Studio 1 des NDR Funkhauses, Hannover (with Paul Bley)
  • March 18: Radio Studio SWR Villa Berg, Stuttgart (with Wolfgang Dauner)
  • March 18: Audimax, University of Freiburg
  • March 19: Liederhalle, Stuttgart (with Paul Bley)
  • March 20: Unknown venue, München
  • March 21: Sendesaal, Köln

Presumably the first Stuttgart recording was made early in the day, in time for the group to travel to Freiburg for an evening performance.

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License